Category Archives: Databases

New Databases

Four new databases were recently added to our collection. Sign into Esearch to access. Check them out and let us know if you have any questions:

ACM Digital Library

A vast repository of citations, articles, and papers from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings can be explored with basic or advanced search capabilities, or browsed by publication.

Digital Theatre Plus

Offers the highest quality online experience of theatre arts, working with creatives and educators to ensure that watching and discovering the world of a play online is an exciting, relevant and authentic learning experience. Digital Theatre Plus captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. We share the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before ‘lights up’ on stage.

Journal Citation Reports

The Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Euromonitor Passport

Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.  Passport connects market research to your company goals and annual planning, analysing market context, competitor insight and future trends impacting businesses globally.

Trial Database: North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

diaryThe Library is currently trialing a new database: North American Women’s Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950. Take a browse and let us know what you think.

From Alexander Street Press:

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.  The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Trial Nursing Database: UpToDate

UpToDate is the premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource for health practitioners. The library is trialing this database right now — if you are a nursing student or in a health related major, take a look and let us know what you think.

From the UpToDate Website: More than 6,000 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. More than 1 million clinicians in 174 countries and almost 90% of academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care.

Find UpToDate on top of the Nursing Subject Guide.

Read more about it here.

New Database: Statista

Statista_Logo_ohne_claim_weisIf you are in the midst of researching a company for an industry profile report, or if you just need some statistics for your research paper, try out the library’s new database Statista.

With an easy to use interface, Statista enables you to look up any topic and provides current figures gathered from trusted sources like the US Census Bureau. The charts and graphics are downloadable in multiple formats so you can incorporate them into your paper or PowerPoint presentation, or analyze them further in an Excel spreadsheet.

Access Statista from the Databases page on the library website.

Connecting Library Databases to Google Scholar on your personal computer

GScholar

As members of the UT community, you have access to all of our subscription databases both on and off campus. Take a look at our database list here. If you like to use Google Scholar, there is a way to connect all of our exclusive databases in that platform. That way you’ll be able to use Google Scholar to cross search everything the library offers you!

Here are the steps to connect:

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Click on Settings on the top (the gear icon)
  3. Click on “Library links” on the left sidebar
  4. Type in “University of Tampa” in the search bar
  5. Check the boxes and press save
  6. If you are off campus, sign into Esearch

It’s as easy as that! Now when you search for an article, you’ll see a list that includes “FullText @ Macdonald-Kelce.” Otherwise, you won’t be able to access these articles from off campus or on your personal computer in Google Scholar.

Give it a try. If you need help connecting please stop by the Reference Desk during the day.

New Nursing Database: Joanna Briggs Evidence Based Practice

Attention Nursing Students! Check out this newly acquired database that will help you with your  research.

Sponsored by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI),  the Joanna Briggs Evidence Based Practice database is a comprehensive resource which focuses on evidence-based practice information. The reviews, guidelines, and technical reports found in JBI EBP cover a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and include a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers.

Resources include over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

The JBI EBP database has ten tools that you can use for appraisal and implementation, quality improvement, and research. Examples include:

  •  JBI Journal Club – a tool for storing and appraising articles for journal clubs.
  •  JBI PACES – an online program that assists with clinical audits and practice changes.
  •  JBI Rapid – a process to analyze articles using a checklist.
  •  Manual Builder – tool for creating evidence-based manuals based on the needs of your organization.
  •  Pamphlet Builder – tool to develop evidence-based pamphlets for your patients.

Sign into Esearch to begin browsing.

PrivCo Database now requires separate login

Some important news for business majors or anyone doing marketing or financial research:

PrivCo, a database for business and financial research, now requires users to establish a separate account for access. Some databases choose to do this to handle the large amounts of data that users download.

Once an account is set up, logging in is quick and easy. When clicking on the PrivCo database, it will prompt you to create a new account, with an authorization code provided for you. Please use your University of Tampa email to sign up.

Please email library [at] ut.edu if you have any questions or access issues.

 

 

40 titles receive special recognition from the American Journal of Nursing

Every year, in its January issue, the American Journal of Nursing or AJN, recognizes the most valuable texts published the field of nursing from the previous year. A panel of judges look for the best of the best in 19 different categories across the nursing spectrum. This year, the judges selected 40 titles.

The Macdonald-Kelce Library is lucky enough to own many of these award-winning titles. Special thanks goes out to librarian Elizabeth Barron whose job is to make sure we have the award winners in the library’s collection. By the way, Elizabeth works tirelessly selecting and acquiring ALL new books for the library in the fields of nursing, criminology, and education (FYI: if you are a student in any of these fields, I recommend you get to know Elizabeth sooner, rather than later).

Right now, the Book of the Year Award titles are found either in the display case next to the circulation desk or on the new book shelf. Always remember, you can check out any of the books on display, just ask one of the attendants at the circulation desk to get a book out for you.

Finding the entire award-winning list is easy. Just log on to Esearch, select the Ovid database from the list of databases, and then clicking on the ‘Journals’ tab. From there you can either enter the journal name in the search box, or scroll down the alphabetical list to find AJN, American Journal of Nursing. Then you can search within the journal for the article using the following title: “Book of Year Awards 2013.”

Here are of a few of the titles that caught my eye:

Where Night Is Day, from the summary in the online catalog: “This book describes the hour-by-hour, day-by-day rhythms of an intensive care unit in a teaching hospital in New Mexico. Written by a nurse, Where Night Is Day reveals the specialized work of ICU nursing and its unique perspective on illness, suffering, and death. It takes place over a thirteen-week period, the time of the average rotation of medical residents through the ICU. As the author, James Kelly, reflects on the rise of medicine, the nature of nursing, the argument of care versus cure, he offers up an intimate portrait of the ICU, the patients who live and/or die there, and the medical professionals who work there.” Call number: RT 120.I5 K45 2013.

Smart but Scattered Teens from the book cover: “Despite high intelligence, adolescents with executive skills deficits can be frustratingly disorganized, distractable, forgetful, and moody…Drs. Guare and Dawson are leading experts on executive skills…grounded in the state-of-the-art scientific research, this book provides crucial skills (teens need) for success.” Call number: HQ 799.15 G83 2013.

See Me as a Person: Creating Therapeutic Relationships with Patients and Their Families, according to Amazon this work “offers guiding principles and a practical methodology that facilitate a clinician’s ability to form authentic relationships which improve patient safety and the overall experience of care.” Call number: R727.3 K 656 2012.

Essential of Nursing Research: Appraisal Evidence for Nursing Practice, Amazon states, this work provides “a unique learning-teaching package that is designed to teach students how to read and critique research reports, and to appreciate the application of research findings to nursing practice.” RT 81.5 P63 2014.

The End-of-Life Namaste Care Program for People with Dementia, author, Joyce Simard states on her webpage that “it is my hope that publication of this book will stimulate many more nursing homes and hospices to pay greater attention to individuals with advanced and terminal dementia. The End-of-Life Namaste Care Program for People with Dementia may serve as an important road map in this effort because it describes in detail how the program can be implemented, how the Namaste Care team is established, how an appropriate Namaste Care environment is created, and what the day’s activities could be.” Call number: RC 521.S57 2013

Finally, here is your Information Literacy Tip of the Day: knowing that experts in the career of nursing selected 40 titles as the best out of all the nursing book published in 2013, is one way to evaluate the credibility and authority of a resource that you might want to use for research and or general information.

Wishing you happy reading in the field of nursing and beyond!

Florida Electronic Library

As many resources as we have, sometimes they are just not enough. Don’t forget you also have access to the Florida Electronic Library and their extensive collection of databases.

The Florida Electronic Library (FEL) is a gateway to: electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias and books, and the Ask a Librarian reference service.

“Florida Statute 1006.72 requires that Florida College System institutions, state universities, school districts and public libraries, collaborate to identify and acquire licensed electronic library resources. The FEL Program Manager works with the Florida Library Network Council (FLNC) to coordinate this process, and cost efficiently and cost effectively, license a collection of statewide core electronic resources.
– See more at: http://www.flelibrary.org/about.php#sthash.f5dqNFKo.dpuf

New book: Human Trafficking part of the Current Controversies series

Current Controversies is a series of books published by Greenhaven Press, a division of Gale, Cengage Learning. Books in this series discuss and examine social and political issues that are of concern both in the United States and around the world.

HumanTraffickingHuman Trafficking, edited by Dedria Bryfonski,  includes four chapters that ask the following questions: “what factors contribute to human trafficking?” and “should internet sites used for sex trafficking be shut down?” and “does globalization promote human trafficking?” and finally “how can human trafficking be addressed?” Each chapter has sub-sections that offer pro and con arguments as well as general overviews of the main subject of the chapter. These sections, written by scholars and experts in the field of human trafficking, contain details and debatable information that will challenge your point of view. The book also contains an organization listing and a bibliography students can use to find further materials about human trafficking.

Who would use this book? Well, it definitely is a place to start if you are working on your MIOP (my informed opinion paper) paper. Students also taking communications or speech classes will also find the book useful. Other students studying political science, international relations, and even business will also find the book helpful when beginning research on the topic of human trafficking.

Human trafficking is also a hot button issue locally, Florida ranks third in the nation when it comes to human trafficking. Take a look at this story  from WUSF – you can read or listen to it. The article also notes that while Florida’s numbers are high in human trafficking, the state is working just as hard at combating the problem.

Of course, you can also find even more information on human trafficking on the library’s databases. Clearly there is much out there on this topic, making it a research project that is doable and with a local tie in. If this seems like something that interests you, the book Human Trafficking is on the New Book Shelf across from the Reference Desk, call number: HQ 281 .H832 2013.