Brainstorming and 9/11

This Wednesday will be the 12th anniversary of the September 11 terrorist attacks. I wonder do normal every day people call them that, “the September 11 terrorist attacks?” I would hazard to guess they do not. Most people say 9/11. Twelve years ago I hated how the news media and people called it 9/11 but now I do it too. I think I didn’t like it because to me it seemed to minimize the loss that tragic event brought about and I thought it made it seem as not as important. Over time I realized it didn’t matter how one labels the event as long as they acknowledged and remembered it.

In the online catalog (the library’s book database) the official Library of Congress subject heading is “September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001.” I didn’t magically know this, rather I brainstormed the topic. I used “9/11” as a keyword search. I found some books. I then looked at the bibliographic record of one of the items and I discovered the official subject heading. When I clicked on that I found A LOT more books! I have to say that if I wanted to do a research project on some aspect of 9 /11 there are many subjects to choose from:

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Psychological aspects

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Influence

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Juvenile literature

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Economic aspects

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Medals

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Environmental aspects–New York (State)–New York

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Health aspects–New York (State)–New York

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Anniversaries, etc.

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Drama

September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001–Personal narratives

AND many more. So, whether you are doing a research project on 9/11 or something else, take time to brainstorm your topic, use the bibliographic records found in the online catalog, and of course always stop by and see a reference librarian for even more help and advice.

Comments are closed.