Libraries in the Superbowl

The “Whisper Fight” commercial for Oreos cookies that aired during the Superbowl is getting a lot of attention from librarians, and seems to be generally well-received among the commercial-loving public.

Sunday night I was visiting with some friends who were having a small Superbowl party. At one point I remember looking over to the television and seeing a library being destroyed. I wasn’t close enough to hear what was going on and missed the joke that through all of the destruction people continue to whisper because they’re in the library. Instead, I was a bit horrified by the wanton library violence. I only hope this doesn’t become a trend.

On the other hand, I do fully endorse the idea of using your library voice no matter how chaotic things get in the library!

2 responses to “Libraries in the Superbowl

  1. I don’t mean to sound harsh but this is just stupid. Maybe I say that because I don’t eat oreos and because I think ad (wo)men are just clueless about so much (maybe they are just clueless about the life I live…) . I will admit there are very few commercials that amuse me…. It also makes me sad because clearly whatever company wrote and produced this piece hasn’t been to a living, breathing, active library in a long time. The quiet,whispering library and librarian is FICTION and if you like that sort of thing you can seek it out in such classics as THE MUSIC MAN and ITS A WONDERFUL LIFE. Me? I prefer Parker Posey’s librarian/library staffer presentation in PARTY GIRL much better….now that is a funny presentation of libraryland….

  2. While it may be that the quiet library is fiction, most patrons prefer quiet libraries. The recent Pew Internet survey on Library Services in the Digital Age found that 76% of respondees wanted libraries to have quiet study spaces for children and adults.

    Not surprisingly this caused a debate among librarians. There is an overview and some links at this post – http://libraries.pewinternet.org/2013/02/06/should-libraries-shush/

    While the stereotype of the silent library no longer holds for most libraries, I think quietness is an important service we offer to our patrons. Isn’t service part of our mission? And if more people want quiet than want databases to search, then shouldn’t we take that desire seriously?