Win A Trip Contest 2013

I was reading an article by New York Times contributor Nicholas Kristof about charitable donations in lieu of traditional Christmas gift giving when I stumbled upon a contest I thought might interest some UT students.

Nicholas Kristof is a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist who covers, among other topics, issues related to poverty in the developing world.  In a recent article Kristof writes —

“One lucky undergraduate or graduate student will win my next win-a-trip contest, an annual event in which I take a university student with me on a reporting trip to Africa. The aim is to generate some interest in global poverty issues both with the contest and with the blogging and videos that the winner will contribute to the New York Times website.”

Watch a video about the experiences of past student winners here.

To find out more or to apply check out these links for the Official Rules http://kristof.blogs.nytimes.com/official-rules-2013-win-a-trip-with-nick-contest/ and Contest Form http://www.cgdev.org/content/article/detail/1426800

I also recommend reading Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Kristof and his wife and fellow Times contributor Sheryl WuDunn.

halfthesky

Comments are closed.