First Friday Concerts Begin At Sykes Chapel Tomorrow

Some may know that I am part-time librarian. Most of my “free” time is occupied by the needs of my almost six-year-old. Last month my daughter started kindergarten so I have a bit more time alone and I have been doing some thinking on how I would like to spend that time.

I have never been one to pass up a free and culturally rewarding program so when I noticed earlier this week that First Friday Concerts will begin at Sykes Chapel tomorrow I did a little happy dance at the reference desk (not really, but I thought about it).

I have taken a look at the organ in Sykes from the distance but I am excited to come in and get a look at it close up. I also admire performers of any type and I think it is my privilege to be part of their audience.

Here is the official info about the First Friday Concerts – I hope to see you there:

“Sykes Chapel and Center for Faith and Values will host organ       demonstration/recitals on the First Friday of every month at noon. These thirty minute “informances” will feature UT music faculty and students demonstrating the Bluthner Grand Piano and the 58-stop Dobson Pipe Organ.”

If you find yourself wanting to listen to more organ or piano music don’t forget we have a CD collection at the library. You can use the online catalog to find titles that might interest you. For me I have my eye on Johannes Brahms Complete Organ Works – I think  might just have to check it out and add it to our Sunday morning classical music listening.  Maybe next week you can ask me all about the CD.  While anyone can check out CDs you do have to ask for access – you can do that at the circulation desk.

Comments are closed.